## Item 4.2

# **Council Committees - Functions, Membership, Election of Deputy Chairpersons**

File No: S062388

# **Memorandum by the Chief Executive Officer**

#### To Council:

In accordance with the provisions of section 360 of the Local Government Act 1993, the Local Government (General) Regulation 2021 and clause 18.2 of the City of Sydney Code of Meeting Practice (the Code), the council may establish such committees as it considers necessary.

In 2022, Council resolved to adopt meeting times, functions, policies and procedures of the following Committees:

- Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee, commencing at 2.00pm.
- Economic and Business Development Committee
- Housing For All Committee
- Cultural and Creative Committee
- Resilient Communities Committee
- Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee

#### **Committee Structure**

Following a review of the administrative arrangements associated with Council's existing Committee structure, a number of amendments are recommended:

- the functions of the Business and Economic Development Committee and the Resilient Communities Committee be combined to create the Resilient Communities and Economy Committee;
- the establishment of a new Environment Committee (previously part of the Transport, Heritage, Environment and Planning Committee); and
- the functions of the proposed Transport, Heritage and Planning Committee are revised to accommodate the establishment of the proposed Environment Committee.

The administrative arrangements associated with Council's committees are detailed in the "Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees" (refer Attachment A). This document has been amended to reflect the changes in Committee structure detailed above.

# **Election of Deputy Chairpersons**

Council may elect a Deputy Chairperson of each Committee in accordance with clauses 18.15 and 18.16 of the Code of Meeting Practice.

Previously, the Council has chosen to hold a separate election for each of the Deputy Chairperson positions. Elections were conducted by open, exhaustive voting (that is, by a show of hands or similar means for candidates duly nominated).

At the Council meeting of 19 September 2022, Council elected Deputy Chairpersons for each of Council's Committees for a term commencing immediately and ending on 30 September 2023, with the Lord Mayor chairing all Committees.

Council will be required to elect a Deputy Chairperson for each of the following Committees for the new term of office commencing immediately and ending on ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council,

- (1) Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee
- (2) Environment Committee
- (3) Housing For All Committee
- (4) Cultural and Creative Committee
- (5) Resilient Communities and Economy Committee
- (6) Transport, Heritage and Planning Committee

## Recommendation

It is resolved that:

- (A) the Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees, as shown at Attachment A to the subject Memorandum, be endorsed and adopted;
- (B) Council elect the Deputy Chairpersons of the Corporate, Finance, Properties and Tenders Committee, Environment Committee, Housing For All Committee, Cultural and Creative Committee, Resilient Communities and Economy Committee and Transport, Heritage and Planning Committee for a term commencing immediately following the election and ending on ending on the day appointed for the next ordinary election of Council;
- (C) the method of voting be open, exhaustive voting; and
- (D) the Chief Executive Officer conduct the election forthwith.

#### **MONICA BARONE**

Chief Executive Officer

## **Attachments**

**Attachment A.** Functions, Delegations, Policies and Procedures of Council Committees